• Gad’s Hill Place School

  • Enjoy a Delicious Cream Tea

  • Discover Fascinating History

Tour of Gad’s Hill Place

When he was a boy Charles Dickens and his father took a walk through Kent and on Gravesend Road, Higham they passed a house called Gad’s Hill Place, a young Charles was very impressed. He bought the house in 1856 and lived there until his death in 1870.   Gad’s Hill is a Grade 1 listed 18th Century house with alterations made by Dickens to accommodate his family’s needs.  Whilst at Gad’s Hill Dickens wrote his last four novels, including Greaat Expectations and A Tale of Two Cities.  He died at Gad’s whilst working on his final book , The Mystery of Edward Drood.

During your tour you will have the opportunity to visit the ground floor of the house, stroll in the gardens and enjoy a delicious cream tea in the conservatory.

Tickets are £9.50 and includes a cream tea. Children 7-12 years £5.00 and under 6 years are free. Booking is essential.

  • Dates
  • Saturday 14th April & Sunday 15th April
  • Saturday 12 May & Sunday 13 May
  • Saturday 9th June & Sunday 10th June
  • Saturday 14th July & Sunday 15th July
  • Saturday 11th August & Sunday 12th August
  • Saturday 8th September & Sunday 9th September
  • Saturday 13th October & Sunday 14th October
  • Times 1pm, 2.15pm, 3.30pm